Politics and Elections

American Politics/Public Policy

Class and U.S. Politics:

  • John Aldrich, professor of political science. Aldrich specializes in American politics and behavior, political institutions, formal theory, and methodology. (919) 660-4346; aldrich@duke.edu
  • Nicholas Carnes, assistant professor of public policy. Carnes studies how U.S. politicians' economic and social class backgrounds influence their choices and the factors that discourage poor and working-class Americans from running for public office. (919) 613-7330; nicholas.carnes@duke.edu
  • William Darity, professor of public policy, African and African-American studies and economics. Specializes in racial and ethnic economic inequality, racial achievement gap, financial crisis in developing countries.  Cell phone:  (919) 452 3118; william.darity@duke.edu

Congress:

  • Michael Munger, professor of political science. Specializes in congressional-presidential elections. Libertarian candidate for N.C. governor in 2008. (919) 660-4301; munger@duke.edu

Crime and Criminal Justice:

  • Philip Cook, professor emeritus of public policy, economics and sociology. Specializes in income inequality,  crime prevention, alcohol and gun control policy. Co-author of "The Winner Take All Society: Why the Few at the Top Get So Much More Than the Rest of Us." (301) 405-3494; (919) 260-4338; pcook@duke.edu

Elections:

  • David Rohde, professor of political science. Specializes in campaigns and elections, and American politics. (919) 452-6092; rohde@duke.edu

Election Law/Gerrymandering:

  • Guy-Uriel Charles, visiting professor of law. Specializes in constitutional law, civil procedure, election law, law and politics, and race. (919) 613-7191; charles@law.duke.edu

Foreign Policy:

  • Bruce Jentleson, professor of public policy and political science. Specializes in Middle East/U.S. policy, conflict prevention and peacekeeping, international security, issues of force and diplomacy. Served as foreign policy adviser to Clinton-Gore administration and campaigns of Obama-Biden and Gore-Lieberman. (919) 613-9208; bwj7@duke.edu
     
  • Peter Feaver, professor of political science and public policy; director of the Triangle Institute for Security Studies; director of the Program in American Grand Strategy. He was on the National Security Council staff under Presidents Bill Clinton and George W. Bush. Feaver blogs at www.shadow.foreignpolicy.com. (919) 660-4331; pfeaver@duke.edu

Institutions:

  • Georg Vanberg, professor of political science. Vanberg focuses on political institutions, particularly judicial, constitutional, and legislative politics and coalition theory. (919) 660-4311; georg.vanberg@duke.edu

Latino Politics:

  • Paula McClain, professor of political science, dean of The Graduate School. Specializes in racial and ethnic politics (elections, attitudes and behaviors), urban politics and civil rights; has researched the growing Latino population in the South, particularly in North Carolina; director of the Ralph Bunche Institute at Duke. (919) 681-1560; pmcclain@duke.edu

Lobbying/Participation:

  • Kristin Goss, assistant professor of public policy and political science. Specializes in lobbying issues, civic and political participation, role of voluntary associations and foundations in public policy, women and politics, politics of gun control. (919) 613-7331; kgoss@duke.edu

North Carolina Politics:

  • Pope "Mac" McCorkle, professor of public policy. Specializes in North Carolina politics and elections. He has served as an issues consultant to political candidates, state governments and various organizations for the last two decades. (919) 613-4390, (919) 656-9912 (cell); mac.mccorkle@duke.edu

Southern Politics, Race:

  • Kerry Haynie, professor of political science. Specializes in state politics, African-American politics, Southern politics, and race and poverty issues. (919) 452-7877; klhaynie@duke.edu

Education

K-12:

  • Helen Ladd, professor emeritus of public policy and economics. Specializes in charter schools, school-based accountability, market-based reforms, parental choice and competition, teacher quality, student achievement. helen.ladd@duke.edu
  • Kristen R. Stephens, assistant professor of the practice of education. Specializes in gifted-child education, teacher training; can discuss Race to the Top/No Child Left Behind. (919) 660-3083; kstephen@duke.edu

Desegregation:

  • Charles Clotfelter, professor of public policy, economics and law. Specializes in school desegregation, higher education, lotteries, high-stakes testing, money and sports in higher education, and other education issues. (919) 613-7361; charles.clotfelter@duke.edu

Student Achievement/Homework:

  • Harris Cooper, professor of education, psychology and neuroscience. Researches the value of homework, making the most of summer school, the value of after-school programs, and the impact of school calendars and calendar variations on students and their families. (919) 660-3167; cooperh@duke.edu

Energy/Environmental

Energy Policy/Climate Change

  • Jonas Monast, director for the climate and energy program at Duke's Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions. Specializes in regulatory options for reducing greenhouse gas emissions, air pollution regulation under the Clean Air Act and the intersection of financial markets and climate policy. (919) 681-7188; jonas.monast@duke.edu
  • Brian Murray, director of the Duke University Energy Initiative. Specializes in the economics of energy policy, particularly as it relates to efforts to mitigate climate change risk. This includes the design and assessment of market-based instruments such as carbon tax, cap-and-trade, and tradable performance standards, as well as policies affecting the markets for bioenergy and other renewables. (919) 613-1324; brian.murray@duke.edu
  • Billy Pizer, associate professor of public policy and environment. Specializes in environmental regulation, climate change and energy economics, energy policy. Served as deputy assistant secretary for environment and energy in the U.S. Treasury Dept, 2008-2011, and as economist with the White House Council of Economic Advisors, 2001-2002. (919) 613-8729; billy.pizer@duke.edu
  • Tim Profeta, director, Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions. Specializes in climate and energy legislation and policy; served as senior environmental counsel to Sen. Lieberman; (919) 613-8709; tim.profeta@duke.edu

Health Care

Health economics/policy:

  • Dr. Kevin A. Schulman, professor of medicine. Specializes in access to health care, the impact of reimbursement and regulatory policies on clinical practice, medical decision-making; associate director of the Duke Clinical Research Institute, director of the Health Sector Management program at The Fuqua School of Business. (919) 668-8101; kevin.schulman@duke.edu
  • Donald H. Taylor, associate professor of public policy studies. Conducts research on aging and comparative health systems, including Medicare, long-term care and health policy. (919) 613-9357; don.taylor@duke.edu.

Health inequalities:

  • Karla FC Holloway, professor of English. Specializes in health disparities, medical ethics, and race issues. (919) 684-8993; karla.holloway@duke.edu

Immigration

  • Gunther Peck, associate professor of history, associate professor of public policy studies. Specializes in 19th and 20th century American social and cultural history, comparative immigration and labor studies, and environmental history. (919) 668-5297; peckgw@duke.edu

Law

Russia-Election Probe:

  • Samuel Buell, professor of law. He specializes in criminal law and on the regulatory state, particularly regulation of corporations and financial markets. He explores the conceptual structure of white-collar offenses, the problem of behaviors that evolve to avoid legal control, and the treatment of the corporation and the white collar offender in the criminal justice system. (919) 613-7193; buell@law.duke.edu
  • Lisa Kern Griffin, professor of law. She specializes in evidence theory, constitutional criminal procedure and federal criminal justice policy. Her recent work includes the criminalization of dishonesty in legal institutions and the political process, and the impact of popular culture about the criminal justice system. (919) 613-7112; griffin@law.duke.edu

Supreme Court/Federal Courts

  • Joseph Blocher, assistant professor of law. Specializes in constitutional law, the First and Second Amendments, capital punishment, and federal courts. (919) 613-7018; blocher@law.duke.edu.
  • Neil Siegel, professor of law and political science. Specializes in constitutional law, federal courts, public law and economics, and criminal law. Clerked with Associate Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg before coming to Duke. (919) 613-7157; siegel@law.duke.edu.
  • Ernest A. Young, professor of law. Specializes in constitutional law, federal courts, and foreign-relations law. A leading authority on the constitutional law of federalism, has written extensively on the Rehnquist Court's "Federalist Revival." Clerked with Associate Justice David Souter. (919) 613-8506; young@law.duke.edu.

National Security/Terrorism/War

Military law and national security:

  • Charlie Dunlap, professor of the practice, Duke Law School; director of Duke's Center on Law, Ethics and National Security. Specializes in warfare policy and strategy, cyber-warfare, military commissions, counterinsurgency, nuclear issues and air power; former deputy judge advocate general of the U.S. Air Force; retired from military in June 2010 as a major general. (919) 613-7233; dunlap@law.duke.edu

Muslim Americans/Muslim politics:

  • Abdeslam Maghraoui, associate professor of the practice in political science. Maghraoui focuses on the interactions between culture and politics in the context of Arab and Muslim majority countries. (919) 660-4320; abdeslam.maghraoui@duke.edu

National Security and Terrorism:

  • David Schanzer, director of the Triangle Center on Terrorism and Homeland Security, a collaboration between Duke, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and RTI International. Specializes in terrorism, Guantanamo Bay, national security policy. Served as Democratic staff director of the House Select Committee on Homeland Security. (919) 613-9279; schanzer@duke.edu.
  • David Siegel, associate professor of political science. Siegel specializes in security, behavior and identities, political violence and terrorism, social networks, elections and political institutions. (919) 660-4330; david.siegel@duke.edu

War, civil-military relations:

  • Peter Feaver, professor of political science and public policy. Specializes in military and veterans' roles in domestic politics; relationship between war, presidential rhetoric and public opinion; president as commander-in-chief. Served as special adviser for strategic planning and institutional reform on the National Security Council from 2005-2007. Author of several books on civil-military relations. (919) 660-4331; pfeaver@duke.edu.